Chronically On Hold.

When someone is sick, they should be able to get help. Easily, and without their mother having to threaten becoming a street walker or sell her body parts to pay for it. I am not as pretty as Anne Hathaway, and if I have to shave my head and have my teeth pulled to save her life, it’s not going to be as romantic as Les Mis made it look on the big screen.

Is that really too much to ask?

Laura Eberhart Goodman

Boils Down to It

(Other Possible Titles)

The Incredibly Uncaring World of Healthcare

Why My Mother Sold Her Kidney: To Buy My Medication (A Cautionary Tale)

In case you didn’t know, this is why the current debate over healthcare matters. To me anyway. Maybe not to you. If not, you’re a selfish bastard and I hope you step on a Lego.

I have been unwillingly thrust into the healthcare debate. I never cared much about insurance because I’ve always had it. It was never a concern because it never needed to be. I was sick, I went to the doctor, I paid my copay, I got well. This makes me privileged and fortunate. Very boring story, actually.

Then I had not one, but two premature babies. Not at the same time, three years apart. But still, very expensive business, prematurity. My daughter cost approximately $118,000. To think that women still give birth in fields…

View original post 2,210 more words

Leave a Reply

